Why was I so drawn to Yin Yoga? I stumbled into this practice a few years ago. It took a while for me to understand because I consider myself a “yangster”. I’m always moving. I love a good kickboxing class. I love jumping…I like to sweat and work hard. So with the Yin practice, I have to admit that it was hard for me to sit still. Don’t get me wrong, I still love my vinyasa practice…however, Yin compliments it.
Yin brings out a meditative state in me where I need to face myself, my thoughts and emotions that surface in the deep, intense posture. Instead of escaping them, I face them head on and try to deal with them. It’s hard, sometimes I want to jump out of a posture. Then, I breathe, am reminded of the second tattva (principle) in yin – “keeping the mind still” and allow myself to face the raw emotions and the intensity of the pose. It teaches me to stay calm.
Not to mention I get energetic (chi) benefits and physical benefits (ROM) as well. It’s amazing.
If you haven’t tried it, find a class nearby your town and give it at least 3-4 times before making a decision if you like it. The first couple times will take some understanding and next few times you may find this practice will grow on you.
To find out more, you may want to visit Bernie Clark’s site (my mentor) at http://www.yinyoga.com. Happy Yin’ing!

