“This yoga should be practiced with firm determination and perseverance, without any mental reservation or doubts.” – Bhagavad Gita

Everyone starts somewhere. It’s a practice and dedication. I remember thinking — wow, I’m never gonna get into that pose. Never say never. I had to remember what I read in Bhagavad Gita. My spirit was down, I remember writing in my yoga journal one day and I let the negative chatter take over.

Eka Pada what? One thing I learnt in this posture is that you must start with a solid foundation. I start this from side crow (Parsva bakasana). Some start from a tripod headstand, but I prefer getting into it from side crow. So…how did I get there?
Get warm first. Sun sals and a few twists. I’d suggest core work to get that awareness in the belly.

Then, start to set your foundation. I get super twisty as I get low. I draw my elbow in….

20130405-171158.jpg

Then I set my hands shoulder width. Claw your mat… Set your gaze forward.

20130405-170543.jpg

Then draw in thru the inner thighs and core. Start to lean and balance in side crow.

20130405-170639.jpg

Then, don’t be afraid. The secret is to trust yourself and keep focus. Lean forward and start to scissor position your legs.

20130405-170811.jpg
Eka Pada Koundiyasana i

Practice and persevere. Don’t despair. It will come in your own time!

