I had a fight with my best guy friend last night. We never fought before, this is the first. Chatting on What’s up application, he’s in Thailand to find his nirvana. I talked to him about how there’s so much chaos in the world and how it would be nice just to be free from that. Long story short, it ended up where he insulted and judged my family. Needless to say, I stopped the conversation. He’s texted me back, I don’t plan to read it yet. This is where it comes to breathing. I came back to what was important to me. Maybe he is going through mid-life crisis. It makes me sad. I wish him to find peace. I let my anger go. Typically, I’d be venting and crying. Nope. I just sat there and thought. Wow. Let’s pray for some truth. Then I thought of a beautiful chant/mantra from Upanishads…

Om asato ma sadgamaya
tamaso ma jyotirgamaya
mrtyorma amrtam gamaya

Lead me from the untruth to the truth.
Lead me from darkness to light.
Lead me from death to immortality.

(Brhadaranyaka Upanishad — I.iii.28)

Today, I practiced opening my shoulders to release the tension I was holding. In my practice, it let me to Mutka Hasta Sirsasana B. Make sure you’ve nailed Salamba Sirsasana first before attempting it. Mutka means “Free” and Hasta means “Hands” headstand.

From Pravritta Padottasana
Back of hands on the ground
Press knuckles in the earth, drawing shoulders away from ears. Find dristi. Breathe. Activate feet.

20130424-130729.jpg

Slowly lift legs and press toe mounds in the sky.

20130424-130822.jpg

Release to child’s pose. Be sure that you press hands into the earth to take the pressure away from the neck.

Hasta La Vista Anger!

