This pose makes me feel far from terrible! Ganda means the cheek, bherundasana means terrible, formidable and it is also a species of bird. I feel like an egret when I’m in this pose.

I warm up with sun salutations and lots of cobras and up dogs. I prepare my core as well. Then, I stretch my neck by resting my chin on the floor (carpet) or on a blanket while laying prone just as Inyenar says to do in Light on Yoga. Next, I practice ganda bherundasana with my blocks.

I place my blocks shoulder width and place my hands behind them while I’m in downdog. I shorten my downdog stance, and lift a leg to three legged dog. I then slowly lower down, elbows in and squeezed in, bringing my chin to my mat. I press my palms to the floor and really engage my arms so there is less pressure to my cervical spine. Then I lift the other leg to match the other engaging my thighs and core.

20130722-184554.jpg
Next, to try without blocks. Make sure there’s extra padding for your chin to rest on your Mat. I have a shirt underneath my mat for extra padding on the cement. (Kinda hidden with in the photo here, I’ll take another next time).

20130722-212114.jpg
There are more variations with this pose, that will be another post! Happy flying!
Namaste.

