The life cycle. In every life exists pain, illness, loss and death.
I wrote this sequence for my dear friend Lyda, who recently lost her father. This flow gets into the heart, lungs, stomach, liver and kidney meridians. All emotions that may come up after losing someone include worry, sadness, anger, and fear. The key is the ocean breath as these emotions may start to appear in the poses/sequence below. As always, consult a physician before starting any exercise program.

Opening Meditation (allow time to center)

Child’s Pose – 5 minutes

Child’s Pose Balasana @lisajyoga

Cat/Cow – 1 minute
Anahastasana – 5 minutes

Anahastasana Lisa Jang Yoga
Yin Melting Heart Pose Anahastasana @lisajyoga

Sphinx Pose with blanket roll under belly to compress stomach organ – 6 minutes

Yin Sphinx Yoga Pose @lisajangyoga
Yin Sphinx Pose @lisajyoga

Gate pose (block under knee) – 1-2 minutes each side (no picture shown) This is a shorter hold since it is more yang like.
Dragon Low – 4 minutes each side

Yin Yoga Dragon @lisajangyoga
Yin Yoga Dragon Low Lunge @lisajangyoga

Sleeping Swan – 4 minutes each side (no picture shown)
Supine Cowface Arms – 3 minutes each side (this one is from the Spine Elixir workshop I took with Tiffany Cruikshank – thank you for this one)

Yin Yoga Cowface Arms @lisajangyoga
Supine Cowface Arms Yin Yoga @lisajangyoga


We allow some time after each pose to pause. To feel the sensation. This sequence is meant to be 60 minutes.